Hulu

Posted: January 25, 2008 in Family, Innovation, Media, Technology, Technology Integration, Television

Hulu I finally got my Hulu private beta invitation today. Like Joost, Hulu offers “television” programming, but the offerings are different and I had a better experience with Hulu. I must say that I am totally impressed. I just finished the first episode of WKRP in Cincinnati and was pleased with the loading and presentation of the media. There are quick ads during the program, and they were short and to the point. When the ads come on you cannot gain access to the controls (I was just curious how that would work), but I had no problem with the brief ads. The picture quality is great, and I am hooked here at the beginning. What the future holds for this business remains to be seen. Will they charge for the content, subscription model, can ads keep it going? These are questions that come to mind, but I know that more and more my family gets their entertainment media from online sources. Could this be the end of the satellite dish? Will the computer soon be hooked up to the LCD TV? It may not be too much longer before it happens with offerings like Hulu.

Comments
  1. Brad Kovach says:

    So, I’ve had the “confirmation” email sitting in my inbox for months now, but I just hooked up with Hulu. I’m watching an episode of The Simpsons now. Luckily, SilverStar just upgraded everybody’s packages, so I can stream it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

