The Conceptual Age

Posted: August 10, 2007 in A Whole New Mind, Daniel H. Pink, Education, Ethics

Daniel H. Pink A Whole New Mind I am still reading Daniel H. Pink’s A Whole New Mind and I have been contemplating the transfer of this conceptual age to a world, or community, or home, or school, or students, or me in a meaningful way. Mr. Pink obviously points out in the “Portfolios” sections of the book that conceptual thinking serves as something to be nurtured, challenged, drawn upon, and exercised.

My first thoughts are, R(Right)-directed thinking can be developed; so, how do we as educators help students to tap into this part of their brains? I think we should start by looking in the mirror at the person we can influence the most. As with anything we want to share or teach, it begins with “you” or should it be “me.” 😉 Reflection is key to understanding and probably the most important person to understand is oneself; then, we serve as models of specific behaviors (in this case R-directed thinking).

This conceptual age gives some of us an opportunity to experience a whole new mind, but I can’t help but think of those who do not have this opportunity. There are those, in what I understand from the book, that have taken on the “duties” of the information age, and as happy as they may be with this new found opportunity, to me Pink reveals a divide that so far is not addressed in his book. This is just something that has been rolling around in my head, and maybe it is empathy that has crept in. I don’t know, but I just wanted to share these thoughts.

Leave a Reply

