Rest in Peace Grandma Blake

Posted: June 20, 2007 in Current Event, Family

Grandma BlakeFor 90 plus years a wonderful woman graced our planet earth. She was my grandmother, and I had the pleasure of knowing her for my 41 short years. Today she passed away, and I am amazed at the changes she has seen, endured, and welcomed in her lifetime. As a British citizen she lived through two world wars in her own backyard. She lived in a time where horse drawn carriages were the norm, to seeing men set foot on the moon. She worked as an office secretary and saw the changes in technology that enabled her to be more productive. She used a computer a few times in her life too!

The greatest thing she did was to be my grandmother. Her love was unconditional, and I was always a star in her eyes. I felt like I was the greatest person to ever live when I was around her, but I knew she was better than me. 🙂 There are some people who are a part of your life that make all the difference in the world, and one of those people for me was my Grandma Blake. I will miss her more than anyone shall ever know. I carry a heavy heart today, but I also have great joy in knowing that I was lucky and blessed enough to have such a beautiful, wonderful, loving, kind, and generous woman such as Grandma Blake in my life. She will always be a great example to me as one who was willing to welcome change, showed bravery in times of crisis and adventure, and knew how to enjoy life and make others feel special.  I pray I can carry on some of her marvelous qualities and share them with those that I meet each day.  Phyllis Kinloch Reade Blake was one of the greatest women this world has ever known.  May she rest in peace until we meet again.

Comments
  1. Sandra says:

    Dear Neil,
    What a lovely piece you have written about your grandmother and my aunt. Her family was always very inportant to her and I have lovely memories of the letters and photographs that she sent to my mother when you were a small child. She stayed with us at Meadow Way before she emigrated to America in 1962 and I find my memories of that time are more vivid than more recent times. I remember her staying with us when my son was 2 and, in fact, I have a brief clip of her on cine film.
    I feel sad that I was never able to visit her despite many invitations but it was not meant to be.
    God bless you & your family. Remember that she will live on in your children’s memories.
    love
    Sandra

Leave a Reply

