The Diffusion of Technology Innovations

Posted: April 4, 2007 in Education, Educational Technology, Instructional Technology, School 2.0, Technology, Technology Integration

It would be highly presumptuous for me to not recognize the wonderful things that are going on in the North Platte Public School District when it comes to technology integration. As I interviewed for the position of educational technology director I gained a sense that this was a place that was already ahead of the game in utilizing technology tools to facilitate the learning process. I know there has been and continues to be a group of motivated educators, parents, and community members that diligently work to diffuse innovations in their schools and classrooms. I am still a few months away of beginning my service with this district, but I am following closely the progress and success of educators that are forging ahead with innovation. I want to share two articles that concern the use of wireless clickers and student podcasting in North Platte:

Technology brings zip to the classroom

Podcast promotes NP

(Listen to the Podcast from Mrs. DiGiovanni’s fourth grade class at McDonald Elementary School!!!) It’s AWESOME!!! 🙂

One of the most exciting things about the goals of this district come in the words written in one of the articles and the same were communicated to me by the superintendent in my interview: “New technology must be “teacher driven – administrator approved,” or, requested by teachers and then approved by administrators…” To me, that is a recipe for success!

Leave a Reply

