David Warlick posts on his blog 2 Cents Worth about creating commercials for textbooks and classrooms (“Do You Need a Commercial?“) and asks:

“What if you had a commercial for your class? What if you made a commercial for your class? Could You?”

I have done this for my classroom the past few years. My goal was to get some pictures of students on the first day of school and prep the video to be shown the next day as I introduce the course. I only happened to find one of these “commercials” from the 2002-2003 school year (I never thought to hang on to all of them!), and I have uploaded it to YouTube. This activity can also be extended by having students create commercials for projects, places, books, etc. The possibilities are endless and fun!

This is my first YouTube video upload, and that is an experience on its own. For those who have not tried it, you need to open a FREE account and then the process is quite easy and simple. This is an often blocked site by school district firewalls, but I’m sure there are other possibilities or opportunities where you could set up a limited showing if necessary. That is an entirely separate issue, but one that I am investigating for a future topic. The videos I have used in my classroom are obviously shown from computers or uploaded and accessed from the school server. For now enjoy one of my classroom commercials:

Comments
  1. Outstanding! Neil, do you mind if I post this on 2¢ Worth?

    — dave —

  2. Thanks David! Post away!

  3. […] Classroom Commercials « Hokanson’s Instructional Technology: I have done this for my classroom the past few years. My goal was to get some pictures of students on the first day of school and prep the video to be shown the next day as I introduce the course. I only happened to find one of these “commercials” from the 2002-2003 school year (I never thought to hang on to all of them!), and I have uploaded it to YouTube. This activity can also be extended by having students create commercials for projects, places, books, etc. The possibilities are endless and fun! […]

  4. […] Classroom Commercials « Hokanson’s Instructional Technology I have done this for my classroom the past few years. My goal was to get some pictures of students on the first day of school and prep the video to be shown the next day as I introduce the course. (tags: broadcast cii_alike creativity education_learning faculty_development ideas inspiration management media_audio_video_photo_broadcast patterns presenting rider techarts tools wordofmouth) […]

Leave a Reply

