Archive for July 24, 2007

I am not trying to promote Cisco by any means by sharing this video, but I think the message ties well with the digital age that we live in and the connections that people, especially students, are able to make in the world today. Watch this video and let me know if you agree.

While attending the Building Learning Communities Conference in Boston, Mass. I had the opportunity to see and hear and learn from Dr. Mitchel Resnick an Associate Professor at the MIT Media Laboratory.  In his Thursday morning keynote speech he shared Scratch (See video below!):

“Scratch is a new programming language that makes it easy to create your own interactive stories, animations, games, music, and art — and share your creations on the web.

Scratch is designed to help young people (ages 8 and up) develop 21st century learning skills. As they create Scratch projects, young people learn important mathematical and computational ideas, while also gaining a deeper understanding of the process of design.”

When I got home I showed the Scratch web site to my six year old son, and he was ready to download immediately!!!  Once installed, Nicholas and I played around for a few minutes to get our bearings; then, I turned Nicholas loose to program at will.  He did!!!  There are many possibilities in applying this application, and I especially like that young people can upload and share their creations with a global audience.  It is FREE, and can also be run on the web.  Try it, you’ll like it!

My superintendent shared the “Pay Attention” video with me today, and it directs our thinking as educators toward what we should be focusing on and trying to tap into with our digital students.  If you have viewed this before watch it again to remind yourself and to help you pay attention!  Enjoy!

I have been viewing presentations on SlideShare for the past few weeks and thought I should try it out myself. It is very easy to use and a handy way to store presentations that you may need to use in far and distant places. This would be a great place to share student presentations and products with a global audience. My first trial run exists below!