Archive for February 10, 2007

I have five children ranging in age from 3 to 14. We don’t have an Xbox 360, PS3 , or a Wii, but the oldest four do have GameBoy SPs. My sons and daughters like to play video games on our computers. ALL of them play games on the computers, and ALL of them can start up the computers and load up the games they like and play them via CD, hard drive, or online. I am talking about a 3, 6, 8, 10, and 14 year-old. The 3 and 6 year-olds amaze me; however, the 14 year-old had access to a computer at an early age too and was the same in progression as those that followed. I often share educational games and tutorials I find with them. I usually just say here it is, or this is where you can find it online, and they go at it. In a matter of minutes and sometimes seconds they have it. They are playing the game as if it were second nature. It is second nature!!! This is what educators have to tap into with today’s students. These youth have no fear or apprehension when it comes to technology, and they love to play video games. I think there are times when students learn more at home on a computer than they do in an entire day at school. This does NOT always happen, but I think more often than not. As educators we should be mindful of those days and to work toward not letting them happen in our schools!